Agatha for best novel goes to Pickard

Pub. Date:
May 12, 2007

Nancy Pickard’s The Virgin of Small Plain s received the Agatha Award for best novel at the Malice Domestic convention in Arlington, Va.

The Agathas honor the year’s best traditional mystery writing.

All Mortal Flesh by Julia Spencer-Fleming , the 2005 “A Tale for Three Counties” author, was also nominated in the best novel category.

Other nominees included The Saddlemaker’s Wife by Earlene Fowler, Why Casey had to Die by L.C. Hayden, and Messenger of Truth by Jacqueline Winspear.

The Agathas, named for famed mystery writer Agatha Christie, have been given since 1988 by Malic Domestic to books that best typify the works of the English novelist. The genre is loosely defined as mysteries which contain no explicit sex or excessive fore or violence, and usually featuring an amateur detective, a confined setting and characters who know one another.

Spencer-Fleming is a former Agatha winner, having won in 2002 for “Best First Novel” for In the Bleak Midwinter , which introduced amateur sleuth the Rev. Clare Fergusson.

Courtesy of Batavia Newspapers Corporation

Back to 2007 Articles

Comments are closed