2005: In the Bleak Midwinter

The Story

In the Bleak Midwinter

“Every small town has its dark side.” Clare Fergusson, the new priest at St. Alban’s Episcopal Church in Millers Kill, stumbles upon a newborn baby left on the church steps. But that’s not all that she finds in her community: murder, family secrets, and a world of trouble as she gets to know the police chief, her parishioners, and the biting cold of a north country winter



About the Author

Most new mothers are lucky if they manage to fit in a shower and a hot meal immediately after the baby arrives. Julia Spencer-Fleming completed her award-winning first novel, In the Bleak Midwinter. “Virginia was born on August 19th, and I finished the book in a torrent of writing over Labor Day weekend,” she says. “Then I worked on rewrites and editing during the rest of my maternity leave. I’d have the nursing baby under one arm and the manuscript under the other.” (more here…)

Read The Daily News Profile story on Julia Spencer-Fleming

Link to the Author’s site http://www.juliaspencerfleming.com/

Awards for In the Bleak Midwinter

The Agatha Award
The Malice Domestic Award
The Anthony Award
The Dilys Award
The Barry Award
The Macavity Award

Julia Spencer Fleming is the first author to win all six awards for a first novel.

Other Works by the Author:

A Fountain Filled with Blood, St. Martin’s Minotaur (New York, NY), 2003 
Out of the Deep I Cry, St. Martin’s Minotaur (New York, NY), 2004
To Darkness and to Death, St. Martin’s Minotaur (New York, NY), 2005
All Mortal Flesh, St. Martin’s Minotaur (New York, NY), 2006
I Shall Not Want, St. Martin’s Minotaur (New York, NY), 2008
One Was a Soldier, St. Martin’s Minotaur (New York, NY),2011
Through the Evil Days, St. Martin’s Minotaur (New York, NY),2014

2013 Update

Within a few days of its Nov. 5 release, “Through the Evil Days,” appeared on The Indie Bestseller List, compiled from sales at independent bookstores nationwide. The title was also named a “Must Read” for November by LibraryReads.org, a national group of library staffers that issue a monthly top-10 of book recommendations.
Spencer-Fleming is already at work on her next novel featuring Clare and Russ. “Hidden From Their Eyes” is expected to explore relationships between fathers and sons and mentors and mentees.  It is also expected to revisit characters from her third book, “Out of the Deep I Cry.”

2011 Update

NOTABLE: The mystery series featuring trouble-finding Episcopal priest Clare Fergusson and small-town police chief Russ Van Alstyne was once planned to end after six books has no end in sight.

Spencer-Fleming reports that she is working on the next book in the series. Tentatively titled “Seven Whole Days” the novel will open about two months after the end of “One Was a Soldier.” In a novel twist, Spencer-Fleming says the story will take place over a single week. The book could be out by the end of 2012, or the beginning of 2013.

Meanwhile, those looking for a Russ-Clare fix should check out Spencer-Fleming’s website, www.juliaspencerfleming.com, and especially her “Reader’s Space” page where she has been posting works in progress and short stories.

2007 Update

The fifth book in the series, “All Mortal Flesh,” was released in October 2006 but it was 2007 that proved to be a big year for the author. The novel, which put Russ as the chief suspect in a murder investigation, was nominated for best mystery in many major awards categories. She won a Gumshore Award from Mystery Ink, a popular online destination for mystery fans, and capped the year by winning the Nero Award for best mystery from The Wolfe Pack, a society of admirers of mystery writer Nero Wolfe.
> THE STORY CONTINUES: “I Shall Not Want” (St. Martin’s Minotaur, June), the sixth book in the planned seven-book series,was published in June 2008 and finds Russ and Clare dealing with their relationship as they investigate the deaths of several Hispanic immigrants.
> Spencer-Fleming is working on the series final book and planning a
new novel set around the closing of Maine State Prison in Thomaston,
Maine. It will be her first story set in Maine.

2006 Update

Author Julia Spencer-Fleming visited the Richmond Memorial Library in Batavia, N.Y. for the first “Tale for Three Counties Celebration”. Julia discussed her newest book All Mortal Flesh which is the fifth book in the series starring the Rev. Clare Fergusson. All Mortal Flesh was released for publication earlier this month. Ben Beagle from the Daily news joined Julia in doing a reading from the book.

2005 Update

Julia Spencer-Fleming received a 2005 Edgar Award nomination for best novel for Out of the Deep I Cry.

Comments are closed